Awards Galore During National Hospital and Nurses Week

May 14, 2018

During National Hospital and Nurses Week, Memorial Healthcare celebrated with a special awards presentation on May 9.

Receiving the 2018 President’s Award was Kristy Brown, Pre-Access Coordinator in Memorial’s Call Center. This award was established to recognize and reward one employee each year for providing outstanding service. It is presented to a member of the Memorial Family who has exhibited exceptional devotion to patients/customers; for exemplifying Memorial’s values; and for exhibiting outstanding personal qualities such as compassion, innovation, integrity, and competency.  Established in 2006, the recipient of this award contributes in a way that exceeds expectations to better Memorial’s ability to fulfill its mission.

A portion of Kristy’s nomination read, “Kristy has been a great asset to our Call Center and Referral Center. She has been employed for 19 years and constantly strives to improve our departments with new, efficient processes that in turns helps our patients with the scheduling needs. She is a hard worker, dedicated to her team, and always puts the patient needs and concerns at the top of her list.”

Those nominated for the 2018 President’s Award included Deb Bendell, Senior Medical Technologist, Lab; Cheryl Brown, HIM and Professional Coding Coordinator, Health Information Management; Brown; Charity Garcia, Certified Medical Assistant/MMA Office Lead, Dr. Huff’s Office; Brad Mead, Skilled Maintenance, Plant Operations; Matt O’Bryant, Manager, Pharmacy; Amy Prchlik, Team Leader, Dietary; Linda Tew, Aide, Housekeeping; and Rene Walters, Safety and Security Systems Coordinator, Public Safety.

The 2017 Employee of the Year was awarded to Theresa Mills, Production in the Food and Nutrition Department. Theresa was chosen by her peers from the prior year’s Employee of the Month recipients.

According to her winning nomination, ““Theresa is efficient and helpful not only with customers but with co-workers as well. She takes the time to pitch in and help without hesitation or being asked. When it gets hectic, Theresa maintains a calm, cool attitude. Theresa is a hard working employee who takes pride in her job and it shows by providing outstanding customer service to our customers and employees.”

Others nominated for this award included Tammie Frizzelle, Aide, Food and Nutrition; Michelle Gallegos, Phlebotomy Tech Assistant, Lab; Charity Garcia, Medical Assistant, MMA; Nicole Jones, Medical Assistant, MMA; Chelsea Kasik, Pharmacy Tech, Pharmacy; June Miller, Insurance Billing Clerk, Patient Finance Department; Mills; Julie Smith, Lobby Receptionist, Public Safety; Aaron Stacy, Radiology Tech, Diagnostic Imaging; Linda Tew, Aide, Housekeeping; Laurie Walker, Patient Care Secretary, 2-North;

Receiving the 2018 Nurse of the Year was Robin Cannon, registered nurse in the Emergency Department. Robin was awarded the honor out of 82 nominees. Some of her nominations read in part, “Robin has a heart for others. She is kind and gently spoken and approaches situations with a can do attitude. Robin is a huge inspiration to me as I am going through the nursing program right now. She is someone that I would want training me.”

The 2018 Patient Care Tech of the Year was awarded to Tyler Luznak from 2-North. Tyler’s nomination stated that he was positive, easy to work with and always interacts with patients in a positive manner. Tyler always has a smile on his face and never had a bad attitude. He is great with patients and is wonderful with relaying information to the nurses.

Receiving the 2017 Good Safety Catch of the Year was Chelsea Bebiak, Registered Nurse in the Operating Room.

The hospital’s Good Safety Catch program is designed to identify any potential serious safety concern related to patient, visitor, or staff encounters. It is also designed to identify any environmental situations in which no system is currently in place or the system in place is not adequately preventing the potential for patient, visitor, or staff harm.

Others nominees included those who received a Good Catch Safety Award during 2017 including: Bebiak; Paula Bishop, RN, Clinical Manager, MMA; Robin Cannon, RN, Shift Coordinator, Emergency Department; Dorinda Clark, Certified Phlebotomy Tech, Lab; Heather Cole, RN, Shift Coordinator, Emergency Department; Kirk DeFrenn, RN, Shift Coordinator, Emergency Department; Amy Flory, RN, Ambulatory Care; Kaitlyn Freeman, Patient Care Tech II, Emergency Department; Hailey Hickey, RN, 2-North; Haleigh Humphrey, Personal Care Aide, MMA; Zachary McNamara, RN, Emergency Department; Emily Meihls, RN, Emergency Department; Kara Schmier, QI Coordinator, Quality; Michele Schooley, RN, Nurse Educator, Education; Dana Smith, Senior Medical Technologist, Laboratory; Nina Tanner, RN, 2-North; Kathy Thelen, RN, House Supervisor, Nursing; and Krista Worthington, Certified Medical Assistant, Gastroenterology.

Also receiving recognition were those employees who received degrees or certifications in 2017. Those included Lisa Ash, Registered Health Information Administrator and Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality; Cheryl Brown, Certified Professional Coder; Nicole Conklin, Certified Emergency Nurse; Pamala Fountain, Certified Healthcare Documentation Specialist; Lyn Freeman, Certified Volunteer Manager; Lisa Hasyn, Bachelors of Science, concentration in Health Services Administration; Tara Hovis, Commission of Diabetic Registration and Bachelor of Science in Diabetics; Tanya Jury, Master of Health Administration; Jason Kimball, Master of Business Administration; Julia Kohler, Critical Care Registered Nurse Certification; Donna Lockwood, Resident Assessment Coordinator Certification; Emily Meihls, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Chelsea Nichols, Certification of Advanced Studies in Project Management; Susan Nickel-Gregory, Senior Professional in Human Resources Certification; and Cathy Peterson, Bachelors of Health Services Administration.