Hospice Volunteers Honored

May 4, 2017

Memorial Healthcare Hospice volunteers were honored April 27 during the annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner and Awards Ceremony.

Hospice Volunteer Coordinator, Connie Henige, stated this event is one way to say thank you to Memorial’s hospice volunteers. “Whether providing patient companionship, delivering flowers, office work, or visiting patients with the pet therapy program, our volunteers truly make our hospice program what it is today. Memorial’s hospice is truly blessed to have such devoted and caring individuals giving of their time.”  

Special recognition was given to Jeri-Lynn Kellogg who received the John and Catherine Cain Award, presented to a volunteer who contributes the greatest number of patient care hours to Hospice. The Basil Henry Award, presented to the volunteer who contributes the greatest number of non-patient care hours to Hospice was awarded to Gwen Ordway. 

Kroger received the Norbert Smith Award, also known as the Community Award, which is presented to a business or lay person who contributes significantly to the promotion of Hospice in Shiawassee County. The Joan Mack Award, presented to an outstanding home care staff member, was awarded to Joelle McGuire, who has been with Memorial Healthcare’s Home Health and Hospice for 23 years.

A new “Hospice Angel” award was also given for a special volunteer(s) who has given of their time and talents effortlessly throughout the year.  This year’s award was presented to the Flower Ministry team, consisting of Gloria Danek, Martha Sutton, Jennifer Hessler and Jeanne Pitt.

Memorial Healthcare Hospice has over 50 volunteers serving Shiawassee County and surrounding areas.  If you have questions or are interested in volunteering, please contact Henige at (989) 729-4271.

Pictured above (l-r): Jeri-Lynn Kellogg, Gwen Ordway, Joelle McGuire, Cindy Vanvelzor (Kroger), Gloria Danek, Martha Sutton, Jennifer Hessler, Jeanne Pitt