Memorial Healthcare Announces Board of Trustees Changes

July 1, 2019

Mr. Gregory Bontrager

Memorial Healthcare’s Board of Trustees, at its annual meeting in May, announced the following changes to its membership.

Elected as the new Chairman of the Board is Mr. Gregory Bontrager. Greg was born and raised in Owosso and went on to become the President and Chief Operating Officer of the American Cancer Society worldwide. With its global headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia, the American Cancer Society is the world’s largest nonprofit voluntary health organization with nearly $1 billion in annual revenue, 3 million volunteers, 6,000 employees, and a presence in many countries around the world. During his time there, he was a primary architect of the largest organizational transformation/merger of a non-profit in US history. Greg offers us a unique, global perspective on healthcare and nonprofit corporations. Though he is now retired from the American Cancer Society, he is still active in the professional world as an organization consultant and executive coach, as well as serving on several boards including Pleasant View and the Department of Health and Human Services locally. “We are extremely fortunate to have an individual with this caliber of experience leading our Board of Trustees,” says Brian L. Long, FACHE, President/CEO of Memorial Healthcare.

Rounding out the slate of  officers is  Vice-Chairperson Tony Young; Treasurer, Wilfred “Bill” Farrell, and Secretary, Jerry Walden. The remaining Board of Trustee members include Barbara BakerOmerod, Dr. Ronald Bishop, Thomas Campbell, James Civille, Dale Espich, Shana Espinoza, John Hagel, Jacklyn Hurd, Dr. Michael Kramer, Brian Long, Donna McAvoy, Dr. Anthony Patsy, and Dr. Michael Schmidt.

“I would like to thank Mr. Tony Young for his years of service as our Chairman and welcome him to his new role as our Vice-Chairman of the Board. Tony’s leadership and guidance throughout the past years has been and continues to be sincerely appreciated. Your tireless efforts and commitment to Memorial Healthcare is in keeping with the highest traditions of governance leadership here at Memorial,” adds Long.

New members welcomed to the Board of Trustees include Ms. Donna McAvoy, Regional Banking President of Chemical Bank and Mr. John Hagel, Director of Business Development  at SET SEG.

Ms. McAvoy rejoins the Board of Trustees after relocating to Owosso from the Traverse City area. As regional president of Chemical Bank, Donna provides management and oversight of business development and philanthropic efforts for Chemical Bank’s banking network located throughout Northern Michigan, including the locations and operations associated with the recent acquisition of Northwestern Bank.

Mr. John Hagel comes to Memorial Healthcare’s Board of Trustees as Director of Business Development for SET SEG, a school insurance specialty company. With over 30 years of experience in the educational field, John served as Superintendent for the Shiawassee Regional Education Service District for 12 years and Superintendent of Clinton County Regional Education Service District for four years before retiring and entering the private sector.

“I know I speak for the entire Board when I say we are excited to have both of these very capable leaders join our ranks to help further support and guide this organization,” says Long.

Departing from the Board, after successfully completing his three years of service, was Mr. Frank Fear, a well-respected leader and supporter of Memorial Healthcare.

Memorial Healthcare is governed by a volunteer Board, which maintains fiduciary responsibility for corporate assets and policies. Memorial’s Board is comprised of representatives from the community, Auxiliary, Foundation, and Medical Staff.

Memorial Healthcare has operated as an independent, non-profit hospital for over 98 years and continues its dedication to caring for the residents throughout the region. True to the hospital mission, Memorial  promotes health and wellness through quality compassionate healthcare with a commitment to service excellence, teamwork, and innovation.